Press Releases

Business Students Honored

Release Date: 12/15/2008

CONTACT: Sylvia Blair
Executive Assistant to the President
Carroll Community College


Carroll Community College Honors Business Students


Westminster, Md., Dec. 15, 2008-Carroll Community College held a business award ceremony on Monday, Dec. 8 in the Great Hall.

Two groups of students were honored. The first group of students received the L. Roland Sturm Scholar Award, and was selected by their professors who consider grades and leadership when nominating students who take individual business classes. The second group of students was inducted into Alpha Beta Gamma honor society. These students are business majors who must have completed 15 or more credits and have a G.P.A. of 3.2 or higher. Two new full-time faculty members were also inducted into the honor society.

"The ceremony is important because it recognizes students who go above and beyond what is expected," said Kate Demarest, chair of the Department of Business and Information Technology
"They're not just "A" students, they are leaders in the classroom."

L. Roland Sturm Scholars 
Jonna R. Areson
Parile A. Barber
Julie A. Bellafiore
John M. Biondo
Varuna S. Chadha
Stephen C. Davis
Gabriella DiZio 
Garrett R. Elligson
Denise Fedde
Sandy S. Fournier
Jenny A. Gulotta
Rachel F. Hansen
Toni Harless 
Michael J. Harris
Michelle R. Harrod
Christine N. Hill
Michael L. Hudson
Maria L. Joy
Thomas R. Kimball
Zachery R. Larrick

 Jedediah K. Lowman
Brenda F. Lucas
Kadie M. Marks
Caroline G. Martin
Sherry L. May
Sandy McElroy
Emily Myers 
Dena M. Nightingale
Jennifer M. Orent 
Zainab Osman
Lauren E. Parrish 
Joanne Pyzik
Jeremy D. Reed
Jennifer Sabo     
Carl H. Schwartz
Darren L. Sheppard
Laura A. Sokolowski
Crystal L. Strauss
Jennifer R. Watson
Witney E. Weaver
Jennifer M. Wilner
Alpha Beta Gamma Inductees
Simone Maria Bolton
Jordan Nicole Campitelli
Katie Clark  
Amy Louise Conaway
Justin K. Dallatezza
Michael J. Harris
Elena A. Hodgkiss
Margaret Chaney, Faculty
 Donald A. Klapka, Jr.
Sherry L. May    
Ciara A. Moore  
Andrew W. Myers    
Matthew Cody Nenninger
Jennifer M. Orent
Nancy M. Schneider
Nancy l. Kimble, Faculty

-                                                           END-

Press Release Home | Press Release Archive

Bookmark, Share, or Email this page Get Help